Car Repairs – Sometimes You Just Need to Try Again

This is going to be a different kind of blog for me. Normally, I don’t talk about specific products or brands but with the experience I had this weekend, I’m going to talk about a product that not only worked, but it saved me over two-hundred dollars.

I’m sure many of you have seen cars with a headlight lens or two that are yellowing or foggy. My Buick LeSabre is one of those vehicles and both headlamps were to the point that the visibility was hampered. Eight months ago I bought a name brand ($15.00) “repair kit” in which I cleaned and polished the headlamps. The improvement was minimal with only a slight improvement in night vision. I took the next step and replaced the bulbs ($16.00) with brighter bulbs, again, only a slight improvement.

As I investigated replacing the headlamp assemblies, I thought I’d take one more look at the repair kits at my local Meijer’s. On the shelf they had a Turtle Wax product called Headlight Lens Restorer so I bought it. I was willing to spend $10 or so in an attempt to save $200.

I was amazed with the amount of product that came in the kit. There were enough materials to easily do 3-4 cars. If you do repair more than one car, you will need to purchase additional protective coating.

The product was easy to use and both headlamps turned out great. I’m sure glad I decided to try it one more time.

Restored Buick LeSabre headlamp

Leave a comment

Filed under Auto, Budget, Miscellaneous, Money, Personal Finance, Saving Money

Leave a Reply

